Skip to content

Mushroom Quiche

November 27, 2010
tags:

With my new job at a better place that has  much more work to do, I have less time to do something I enjoy. Baking OR cooking.

At my sister’s emotional blackmail (” You always bake things you like to eat and not what I like!”) and challenge, she asked for Mushroom Quiche. In my busy month of October in which I fell sick, I took out the time to make this for her. The first time failed due to my lack of knowledge that BAKING BEANS ARE SO IMPORTANT and that ordinary beans can be used as baking beans. My second time during that challenge turned out so much better but it didn’t taste as good because I decided to use the machine to help me mix the dough which  is  highly NOT recommended. Somehow, using your hands to make the dough makes such a great difference.

After my pictures of the successful mushroom quiche came out, my friend J wanted to try at my house baking it with me.

So here it is!
Mushroom Quiche: Pastry base

MUSHROOM QUICHE (adapted from Julia Child, Vol.1 Pg 152)

*Using a 8-inch flan pan*

PASTRY

  • 2 cups of all-purpose flour (scooped and levelled)
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • ¼ tsp of sugar
  • 170g of chilled butter cut into ½ inch bits
  • 4 Tbs chilled shortening
  • A scant half cup of iced water, plus more droplets if needed 

1.)    Place flour, salt, sugar, butter and vegetable shortening in a big mixing bowl. Rub the flour and fat together rapidly between the tips of your fingers until the fat is broken into pieces of (slightly bigger) than oatmeal flakes. Do  not overdo this step as the fat will be blended one more time later.

2.)    Add  water and blend quickly with one hand, fingers held together slightly cupped and gather the dough into amass. Sprinkle some water accordingly to make it into a dough shaped ball. The texture of the dough hold together, not too sticky. Proceed to do the fraisage.

3.)   Fraisage: Place the dough on lightly floured pastry board. With the heel of one hand, not the palm  (because it is too warm), rapidly press the pastry down and away from you about 6 inches.  With scraper or spatula, gather the dough into a mass again and knead it  into a round ball. Sprinkle it with flour and refrigerate it for 1 hour until it is firm. Proceed to make the filling while waiting.

 
Mushroom Quiche: Filling

1.)   FILLING

Part A

  • 2 Tbs of minced shallots/green onions
  • 1.5 Tbs of butter
  • 250g of sliced fresh mushrooms
  • ½ tsp of salt
  • ½ tsp of lemon juice
  • 1 Tb of white wine (optional)

Cook the shallots/onions in a saucepan with the butter for a moment. Stir in mushrooms, slat, lemon juice and optional wine. Cover the pan and cook the ingredients at moderately low heat for 8 minutes. Uncover. Raise heat and boil for a few minutes until the liquid is evaporated.

Part B

  • 2 eggs
  • 180-200g of whipping cream
  • Pinch of nutmeg
  • 1/8 of pepper
  • 1/8 cup of Swiss cheese. (Put more if you like)
  • ½ Tbs of butter cut into pea-sized dots

Beat the eggs, cream and seasonings a mixing bowl to blend. Then add in the cooked mushroom mix in Part A. Put it aside or into the fridge.

5.)    Rolling out the dough: Take the dough out from the freezer. Quickly roll out the dough as quickly as possible so that it will not soften due to its high butter content. Place the dough on a lightly floured board or marble. Lightly flour the top of the dough. Place the  rolling pin across CENTRE and roll the pin back and forth with firm but gentle pressure. Then, with a firm, even stroke and always rolling away from you, start just below the centre of the dough and roll to within of the far edge.

6.)    Lift the dough and turn it  at a slight angle. Give it another roll. Continue lifting, turning and rolling as necessary and sprinkle flour onto the dough to prevent it from sticking. Roll into a circle that can fit your pie  pan.

7.)    Once the pastry base is ready, lift up the dough and place it on the pan. Trim of any excess dough. Get a piece of baking paper or aluminium foil and place it onto the pastry base, then pour baking beans/soya beans/raw rice onto the aluminium foil. The layers should be (from the bottom to top: pie panàaluminium panàbeans.) Once done, put it into the oven for 10 minutes at 190 C.

Mushroom Quiche: Going into the Oven!

8.)    Once the pastry is partially cooked, remove the aluminium foil of baking beans. Pour the filling that was prepared in part A and B. Put into the oven for 30 minutes at 190 C.

TADA!
Mushroom Quiche: Cooked!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2010 8:02 pm

    Oh, thank you for this lovely recipe! I’ve been wanting to make a pastry crust for the past several weeks to try blending vegetable shortening with butter, which I think will make the crust taste better. (My mother always made her crusts from Spry, which was a blend of animal and vegetable fat and their taste was extraordinary. No one even sells Spry today. Bummer) And there you are, using both an animal fat and vegetable fat in the same pastry mixture.

    On top of that, I’ve never thought of using mushrooms as a main quiche ingredient. I’m dying to try this. Today! Today. It’s on my menu. Thank you again. BTW your final product LOOKs gorgeous. Fingers crossed, here!

  2. November 27, 2010 8:17 pm

    P.S.
    If I use aluminum foil and beans or rice to pre-bake the crust, should I prick the crust before putting in the aluminum foil and beans or rice? I’ve always just pricked the crust before pre-baking and baked “naked”, so I’m unsure of how to adapt to the other method. Thank you.

    • November 27, 2010 11:48 pm

      Hi there! Yes, you may prick the crust! I did that the first time round. I forgot to do prick the subsequent times now that you mentioned it but nothing ever went bad! Go ahead and prick it! It’s suppose to prevent the crust from rising. 🙂 Guess nothing happened to mine because I put really heavy beans on it.

      Thank you for dropping by! You are my first foreign visitor! Just quickly looked through your gardening posts and looks like I can learn from you too!

      Enjoy the recipie! I made it the 2nd time today because everyone finished the first quiche up in 30 min!
      God bless!

  3. November 28, 2010 4:36 am

    Thank you! It’s beautiful. It’s perfect. I can’t wait to consume it! It’s heaven on a platter.

    I had no idea this morning that I was in another country! Glad to meet you. I’ve never been abroad before. This is fun.

    Your quiche is marvelous. And thank you again for the instructions. I hope you do take up gardening if you get a chance. Nothing I’ve done has ever so satisfied my creative urge before.

    I can see why this went so quickly!

    • November 28, 2010 9:57 pm

      Glad that it was a success! 🙂 I’m from Singapore. Where are you from?

  4. January 10, 2011 10:40 pm

    Hi, sorry I am so slow to repsond. I’m fromwest-central Illinois, USA. What fun to be in touch with someone from Singapore. We have snow here and have more expected. I think I’d be a lovely time to make another mushroom quiche. I cannot tell you how much I like your dish!

Trackbacks

  1. Mushroom Quiche Heaven | Tempusflits' Garden

Leave a Reply

