Skip to content

Apple Muffins: Reflections on Baking as a Career

June 22, 2010
tags:

In the  midst of my recovery, I have been praying to God to point me into a direction where I should spend at least 8hours of my everyday life.

Today, it dawned upon me that baking won’t be  one of them.

Though it has it’s set of challenges, there is a science to baking (at some point  in time) but I personally find it not challenging for me.

I have a good friend who took off to go Le Cordon Bleu to study baking and up to this day, in my very heart, I would love to see her open her own shop and show our citizens that we are capable of creating beautiful things as well. Unfortunately, she  shelved her plans and has yet to open her own shop for fears of unsustainability.

To me, baking is my therapy. I don’t do retail therapy. I do bake-therapy.

Why? Because it is somewhat brainless (maybe that is too harsh a word to use), I think of someone that I love or like and when I pour my affections that translates into effort, the result never fails me.

Anyhow, anyway….I leave this recipie that I googled and altered to my whims and fancies of suddenly  wanting to eat apple muffins.

End of reflection.

APPLE MUFFINS (adapted from allrecipies.com)

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup butter or vegetable oil
  • 1 /2 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 cup of white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped apples
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon powder
  • 1 tsp of nutmeg powder
  • 1/4 cup of oatmeal
  • Toppings mixture

  • 1/3 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  •  

    1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Grease a 12 cup muffin pan.
    2. In a medium bowl, mix flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Add in the oatmeal, cinnamon and nutmeg. mix
    3. In a large bowl, beat together butter, sugar and eggs until smooth. Mix in vanilla. Stir in apples, and gradually blend in the flour mixture. Spoon the mixture into the prepared muffin pan.
    4. In a small bowl, mix brown sugar, flour and cinnamon. Cut in butter until mixture is like coarse crumbs. Sprinkle over tops of mixture in muffin pan.
    5. Bake 20 minutes in the preheated oven, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean. Allow to sit 5 minutes before removing muffins from pan. Cool on a wire rack.

    I couldn’t wait and chomped into it after 1 minute of cooling.

    No comments yet

    Leave a Reply

