Skip to content

Kungfu Panda: Oogway Wisdom

May 5, 2010

While I wasted 4 hours in the monthly pain, I decided to at least distract myself with something funny and wise.

Kung fu Panda was always used in my church to show us the short clips of wisdom. Upon seeing  the DVD on sale, I figured it would be a classic to keep. And true enough, I always hear clips of wisdom which are ever so applicable  to me and possibly, you.

“Your mind is like this water,
my friend.

When it is agitated,
it becomes difficult to see.

But if you allow it to settle…

…the answer becomes clear.”

+++++

“The secret ingredient
of my Secret Ingredient Soup.

Come here. The secret ingredient is…nothing.

You heard me. Nothing!
There is no secret ingredient.

…To make something special, you just believe it’s special.”

+++++

“There are no accidents.”

+++++

“You are too concerned with what was and what will be.

There’s a saying:

Yesterday is history,

tomorrow is a mystery,

but today is a gift.

That is why it is called the present.”

+++++

“My old friend, the panda will never
fulfill his destiny, nor you yours,
until you let go of the illusion of
control.

SHIFU
Illusion?

OOGWAY
Yeah. Look at this tree, Shifu. I cannot make it blossom when it
suits me, nor make it bear fruit before its time.

SHIFU
But there are things we can control.

Shifu kicks the tree and a peach falls to his feet.

SHIFU (CONT’D)
I can control when the fruit will fall.

A peach falls on his head and Oogway chuckles. Shifu tosses
the peach in the air, leaps up, and splits it with a chop.

SHIFU (CONT’D)
And I can control–

Shifu punches the ground, creating a hole and places the seed in it.

SHIFU (CONT’D)
–where to plant the seed. That is no illusion, Master.

OOGWAY
Ah, yes. But no matter what you do,that seed will grow to be a peach tree.
You may wish for an apple, or an orange… but you will get a peach.

SHIFU
But a peach cannot defeat Tai Lung!

OOGWAY
Maybe it can. If you are willing to guide it, to nurture it. To believe in it.”

+++++

“Your vision will become clear only when you look into your own heart.

Who looks outside, dreams; who looks inside, awakens.”

+++++

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

