Skip to content

Thincrust Pizza with Minced Pork & Bell Peppers

April 15, 2010
tags:

I had a brief argument with my wondermaid this morning.

Due to supermarketing logistics ie: there’s not enough of this or there is none of that and ironically we went to the bloody supermarket 2 days ago, I got mad. Because it was her responsibility to inform me of what we needed to buy and obviously she felt pasta sauce was not what we needed to stock up on considering we eat so much pasta every week!

 So there, we had NO pasta sauce and I wanted to eat pizza SO badly. Brilliant.

I huffed upstairs to my computer and started to surf around and remembered my younger days of cooking ie: when I was 14 years old and I so badly wanted to make pizza for my dad to eat. (I literally got myself a Italian Pizza book and learnt how to make pizza from scratch. I failed terribly at the crust making but everything else went well.)

 He liked pizza but just not the ones in Singapore because he says it’s fake. He says REAL italian pizzas don’t taste like those in Singapore and the ones we eat here have been adjusted heavily for the local untrained tastebuds.(He also says the same about Japanese food in Singapore). The well-travelled man and gourmet always complains about restaurants trying to bluff our trained tongues and not cooking it the REAL way. And now having tried REAL italian food abroad, I do kapui (a local term for 1. direction translation:spit saliva, 2.figuratively: look down upon) on almost all pizzas in Singapore especially pizza chains. There’s just no love in the pizzas at all. No love.

Let me show you what sort of pizza has love. And we are using leftover ingredients to make pizza and this has love.

Look at the following:

So back to my “NO PASTA SAUCE” situation, no tomato paste, nada. Thus I found some leftovers and did the following mix of pizza sauce………….

A quick mix of tomato pizza sauce:

I promptly gathered and

chopped one tomato sitting pitifully in the fridge,

chopped 1/4 of a white onion,

chopped 2 cloves of garlic,

chopped 2 basil leaves from my surviving plant,

 2 generous sprinkles of dried oregano,

 two tablespoons of tomato relish sauce (a gift from a Christmas hamper, it is still within expiry)

and combined everything in a saucepan after heating up with some olive oil.

And added 1/4 to 1/2 tsp of salt,

1/4 to 1/2 tsp of sugar to taste,

and about 3 to 5 tbs of water.

Cooked it at low-medium heat and let it bubbled joyfully on my stove whilst my wondermaid silently looked upset cleaning the other side of the kitchen.

Afterwhich, I fried some minced pork (marinated with salt and pepper) together with about 1 tbs of chopped garlic and 2 tbs of chopped onions with the leftover pizza sauce from the first round of cooking.

Then I made the pizza crust recipie inspired by this awesome lady Rebecca.

Her recipie would produce 3 large pizzas. I had adjusted everything downwards enough for 2 people to eat and I was still too full in the end.

For: 2 medium sized pizzas

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup warm milk
  • 3/4 tbs of instant yeast
  • 1/4 teaspoon sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoons salt, plus additional for sprinkling over dough
  • 2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbs olive oil, plus additional for spreading over dough
  • 1 tbs of minced garlic
  •  1 tbs of minced onion (optional)-I added it for mine!

Place the warm whey or milk in a very large mixing bowl and sprinkle the yeast and sugar over the top.  Swirl the bowl and let sit for five minutes.  Add the remaining ingredients and stir until an evenly moist and a cohesive dough forms.  Cover with a clean dish towel and let rise for 20 minutes.

Preheat oven to 260C /Gas 10/500 F.

Generously grease 2 medium round pans (or rimmed sheet pans) with olive oil.  Wet your hands and divide the dough into 2 equal portions.  With wet hands, spread the dough on your oiled pans.  Allow the dough to rest for five more minutes, wet your hands again, and re-work the dough toward the outer edges of the pan.  Brush or rub the dough generously with olive oil and sprinkle lightly with granulated garlic or minced garlic.

Bake pizza crusts for 15 minutes and take it out of the oven, smear the tomato paste, sprinkle the cooked minced pork and raw green bell peppers, layer it with cheese slices (like Kraft singles) or powdered parmesan cheese generously and put it into the oven for another 5 minutes.

Voila! Enjoy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

